Tags

, , , ,

Sisters,

Some of you have been distraught lately over questions such as: Why don’t women have the priesthood? How come they teach us different things in Young Women’s than they do Young Men’s? Why is it considered perfectly responsible and necessary to leave 12 year old girls alone in a room with a middle-aged man for him to ask them if/how/how often they touch themselves? Garments over or under the bra?

These may seem like troubling questions but I will refer you to the inspired words of our beloved Prophet Joseph Smith as he wrote them to Nancy Rigdon:

That which is wrong under one circumstance, may be, and often is, right under another. . . . Whatever God requires is right, no matter what it is, although we may not see the reason therof til long after the events transpire.

He had approached 19 year-old Nancy to be his 34th (or so, who can count?) plural wife. Yes, in Western society it is considered uncouth and even illegal to marry more than one person. And just as we have grown up desiring husbands of our very own, just for us for time and eternity, it is clear that Nancy held dear the same values. I’m sure that she was put in quite a bind when faced with what seemed to be an absurd proposition from Joseph. What did Nancy choose? Did she choose the right?

Unfortunately, the foolish, headstrong girl that she was, she grabbed her bonnet and told our sinless Prophet that she would marry a single man or none at all. How little faith did she have? How terrible that she would put societal norms and  earthly wants and needs above those of our Heavenly Father. I hope that all of us sisters are stronger in our testimonies of this One True Church than poor Nancy. I think we all know a little bit more about the character of Joseph than she did.

How do we avoid young Nancy’s mistake? Five little words: put it on the shelf. That’s right. Put it up there and don’t worry. Don’t think any more about it, believe the words of the scriptures and of the prophets and and trust that they know Heavenly Father’s will more than we do. His ways are not our ways!

Some people  talk of their shelves getting too heavy and cluttered and finally collapsing. I have prevented this by preparing my shelf properly. I went down to Home Depot and picked up one of these heavy duty shelving units:

Shelving

Those cute ones from Ikea maybe pretty and all, but you get what you pay for. That particle board just doesn’t hold up as well as steel. These heavy duty floor units do the job just right, and I have no need to worry that someday my precariously constructed worldview will come crashing down around me revealing that I’ve been living a life of illusion and wasting my time in endless useless meetings listening to endless useless people. I’m even thinking about getting some pretty curtains or cabinet doors, so I can hide away all that ugly stuff on that shelf. Out of sight, out of mind!

I say this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

